Recede

If you can feel me,
feel me now
If you can hear me,
hear me as your own thought
look up, look around
for I am

standing in an open field
parched, scrubby weeds
scorched by short shadows
arms wide
open
come to me
to me

but the world recedes
you recede
fade
and vastness surrounds me

I am left
every time she comes for you
I am left
and left
again

if you can hear my cries
in your unguarded dreams,
my silent pleas, tight,
behind my tongue
hear me now

but I am receding
fading
every time she comes for you
there is less
and less
of me.

 

Submitted to OpenLink Night #82 at dversepoets.com

About bittersweetverse

Writer, poet, lover. http://madamesweetcheeks.blogspot.com/ View all posts by bittersweetverse

10 responses to “Recede

Leave a Reply

